Meet the 2021 Going Digital Awards in Infrastructure Winners and Finalists

Discover how the 2021 Winners and Finalists are going digital!

Awards Categories and Criteria

The categories for the 2021 Going Digital Awards in Infrastructure encompass all forms of infrastructure projects and stages – from design, to construction, to operations. Review the criteria and category descriptions to decide which category best describes your project!

Nominate a Project in 2022

Click the link below to sign up to receive an email when we open the 2022 submissions!

Going Digital Awards

The Going Digital Awards in Infrastructure, formerly known as The Year in Infrastructure Awards, is an exciting and well-regarded global competition that recognizes digital advancements in infrastructure.

These awards are an integral part of the Year in Infrastructure, which brings together infrastructure professionals and members of the media from around the globe to share innovative practices in infrastructure project design, engineering, construction, and operations.

Since 2004, the Awards program has recognized over 4,600 of the world’s most outstanding infrastructure projects. Open to all Bentley software users, it is a unique program that is truly global in scope and comprehensive in categories covered, encompassing all forms of infrastructure projects from around the world.

Nominating your project provides great recognition, exciting rewards, and unique opportunities to network and promote your organization! All finalists will present their projects at the Year in Infrastructure 2021.

Why Nominate a Project

Nominating your project is the first step towards gaining global recognition for your infrastructure project. Take a look at the benefits and rewards of becoming a nominee, finalist, and winner.


Nominate your project and receive complimentary access to digital content from Bentley Institute Press, including reference books and textbooks authored by experts covering domains such as Digital Twins, BIM, Structural Analysis, Hydrology, Construction, Building Design, Plant Design and more!

Each nominee is further recognized in the Infrastructure Yearbook, which is just the beginning of how your project can be promoted to a global audience through Bentley’s marketing and public relations activities. All nominees also get a certificate of participation.


As a finalist, you get to present your project on a global platform before jurors, peers, and members of international press. All the finalists will be honored during the awards ceremony and will receive a finalist trophy. You also get an opportunity to participate in Bentley’s Speaker Bureau program, under which you can get invited to share your experience at Bentley hosted events and leading third-party industry conferences.

After the event, your project presentation will continue to be available on-demand on Bentley’s website, and you will be able to share this with your colleagues, clients, and peers. In addition, your project will be showcased in the User Project section on the Bentley website.


The winners receive all the rewards of nominees and finalists. In addition, they receive a $1,000 charitable donation in their organization’s name. An exclusive press release featuring the winners and their organizations will be distributed to leading industry publications across the globe. Winning projects will be covered by strategic media partners. If the charitable donation and global recognition aren’t enough, winners also receive a custom, hand-made trophy and an awards poster featuring their project.

Submission Process

The Submission Consists of Three Steps:

Submission Process

Fill in the Online Nomination Form

Upload Supporting Material, Including at Least Three High-Resolution Images

Accept the Terms of the Participation Agreement

Useful Resources

Program Overview

Brief overview of the Awards program

How To Create a Winning Submission

Simple tips for a great submission

Nomination Benefits and Process

Why and how to nominate your project

FAQs About the Program

All basic questions answered

2021 Infographic

Highlights of the 2021 Going Digital Awards in Infrastructure


  • Bentley software must be utilized in the creation of the project
  • Previous Awards submissions will not be accepted, unless the project has changed significantly or is in a different phase of development or operation.
  • Organizations can submit multiple projects, regardless of whether they are all in the same category or in different categories; however, they cannot submit the same project in multiple categories (i.e. each project can ONLY be submitted once into one category).

  • Participants agree to abide by the terms of these official rules and by the decisions of the independent jurors, which are final and binding, on all matters pertaining to the 2021 Going Digital Awards in Infrastructure.
  • Bentley reserves the right to disqualify projects that fail to meet these rules and requirements.
  • Bentley reserves the right to disqualify projects that fail to meet these rules and requirements.
  • Bentley assumes no responsibility for failure of any project to be received by the deadline due to incomplete or late entries.

  • If a given project is not submitted under a suitable and compatible category, Bentley may place the project in an awards class or category that best fits the project’s goals and achievements.
  • The final competition categories are subject to change, based on actual entries.

  • You must accept the participation agreement terms for your project to be considered as a nominee.
  • Participants warrant that they have received all necessary approvals and authorizations to accept the terms of the participation agreement with respect to the project entry.